Text message phishing scam

  • 1
  • Article
  • Updated 3 years ago
It has come to our attention that some customers may have received a text message from a number 204-XXX-XXX@text.mtsmobility, which looks like the below picture.
This is a case of phishing, and is a scam, so please do not provide any of your account or login information if you click on the link.

For example, the link provided below leads to what looks like a Scotiabank online banking login page, but if you look at the domain in the URL it says melttheweight.com, which the real Scotiabank site would never have. 

Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Alum

  • 15,316 Points 10k badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of JG

JG, Champion

  • 4,556 Points 4k badge 2x thumb
Could MTS send out a broadcast text message to advise people?
Photo of Jessica

Jessica, Alum

  • 15,316 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Good suggestion Jesse, I'll pass it along to our Marketing group. We try and keep our text message broadcasts to a minimum, but this is definitely an important message. 
Photo of Clifford Lewis

Clifford Lewis, Champion

  • 27,088 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Good idea but I wonder if there are privacy issues that would prevent MTS from doing a group broadcast message?
Photo of RuralCustomer


  • 384 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I don't see why there would be an issue here, MTS would not share other customer's details in the message so really it is no different than when you get notices about a phone contract expiring, etc.
Photo of Derek Baschuk

Derek Baschuk

  • 60 Points
Similar email - received on June 19